Training

Pinned sources The Llama 3 Herd of Models (arXiv 2407.21783v3), whose results are all for Llama 3.1 · for Llama 3, its model card (meta-llama/llama3 @ a0940f9) and Meta’s post of April 2024 · no training code is published · How to read

  1. Start of training
  2. Llama 3, April 2024, predecessor2 stages
  3. Whether Llama 3.1 continues these checkpoints: not stated
  4. Llama 3 pre-training15T+ tokens at 8K15T8Knot statednot stated
  5. Llama 3 post-trainingSFT, RS, PPO, DPOnot statednot statedSFTPPODPOnot stated
  6. Llama 3 (April 2024)
  7. Initial pre-trainingat 4K, then 8K15.6T8KNTPall
  8. Long-context pre-trainingsix stages, 8K to 128K800B128KNTPallcontext to 128K
  9. Annealinglearning rate to 040M128KNTPall
  10. Pre-trained model
  11. Off this path: Reward model1 stage
  12. Reward modelin each roundnot statednot statedRMLlama 2’s, no marginnot stated
  13. Reward model
  14. × 6 roundsRejection sampling and SFTthen DPO, each roundnot stated128KSFTRS and synthetic datanot stated
  15. DPOafter SFT, each roundnot statedshortDPO+ NLL 0.2not stated
  16. Llama 3.1 405B Instruct
  • tokens, log scale
  • derived: computed from stated numbers
  • context length
  • all parameters train
  • a part trains
  • all but a part trains
  • NTPdashed: concluded, no source names it
  • not stated by the sources
  • the architecture changes
  • checkpoint
  • checkpoint, weights published
  • a join the sources leave unexplained
  • data from a branch into a stage
  • stages repeated together

Whether Llama 3.1 continues these checkpoints: not stated

×

Join the sources leave unexplained

The paper presents Llama 3.1 and lists Llama 3 beside it (Table 1); neither it, the model card nor Meta’s post says whether Llama 3.1 is trained from Llama 3’s checkpoints.

Sources1
Key
stage
tokens, log scale
a total no source states, computed from steps × batch × length
checkpoint
checkpoint, weights published
a join the sources leave unexplained
stages of a released model, folded into one row
derived
computed from reported values; the arithmetic is shown
not disclosed
no pinned source states it; nothing is filled in